WEE Leadership Awards

Credit: Andy Hall

Winners of the 2016 Women’s Economic Empowerment (WEE) Leadership Awards


In commemoration of International Women’s Day, Oxfam’s Knowledge Hub on WEE in Agriculture organised the 2016 WEE Leadership Awards to recognise staff members of partner and community organisations, as well as Oxfam, who have shown exceptional championship of WEE.


Winnie Byanyima, Oxfam International Executive Director, announced the seven winners of this award for 2016 on International Women’s Day and commended them for their work to promote economic opportunity for women (such as new, more lucrative roles in markets and decent work for women) along with the social and political changes women require to claim their economic rights and improve their wellbeing.  In addition, she highlighted the importance of their efforts to change economic systems- - thinking, practices, roles, policies - that systematically discriminate against women so that economic development contributes more sustainably to gender justice.


The winners for 2016 are listed below and featured in Oxfam's International Women's Day website.

Partner and community organisations

Konnah S. Kollie, Founder and Executive Director of Young Liberian Women’s Organisation for Improvement,  Liberia
Ume Laila Azhar, CEO of Homenet Pakistan
Magdalena Fueres, President of the Women’s Central Committee of the Union of Indigenous and Peasant Organisations in Cotacachi, Ecuador
Mariam Nana, President of the Parboilers Women's Union of Bagré, Burkina Faso (Posthumous Award)

Oxfam staff
Jomkwan Kwanyuen, Gender Justice Programme Officer, Oxfam in Thailand
Seble Teweldbirhan, Media and Communications Officer, Oxfam in Ethiopia
Jocelyn Villanueva, Change Lead – Women’s Economic Empowerment, Asia Region


We received nominations for 38 inspiring individuals. Though we were not able to give awards to all individuals, we would like to give special recognition to all nominees for their commitment and dedication to advancing women’s economic rights. See list of nominees and reasons for which they were nominated.


Awards Committee

The Awards Committee that selected the winners for 2016 consisted of the following members of the Knowledge Hub’s Governance Committee:

Jon Horsley, Head of Programme Development, Oxfam International
Sophie Romana, Director, Community Finance, Oxfam America
Francesco Torrigiani, rtnership and Program Policy Office, Oxfam Italia 
John Chettleborough, Agricultural Markets and Enterprise Unit Manager, Oxfam Great Britain
Claudia Canepa, Knowledge Hub Coordinator - Women's Economic Empowerment in Agriculture


Latest Activity

omar is now a member of Women's Economic Empowerment in Agriculture Knowledge Hub
Wahyu Adiningtyas is now a member of Women's Economic Empowerment in Agriculture Knowledge Hub
Apr 8
wee.oxfam.org posted an event
Apr 2
Tamsin Smith posted events
Apr 2

© 2019   Oxfam. Created by Helen Moreno.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service